Kukri Hills

Quick post, very limited bandwidth from Lake Hoare in the Taylor Valley. We hiked from Lake Bonney to Lake Hoare today, a 10 mile hike with 2400 feet of elevation gain because we took the high road over the Nussbaum Riegel. An amazing hike with the most varied topography and surface I have ever seen anywhere. More to come when I get back to McMurdo.

Update: many more photographs of Taylor Valley on my website here

Taylor Valley with Taylor Glacier in the distance and Lake Bonney. We started our hike at Lake Bonney.
Taylor Valley with Taylor Glacier in the distance and Lake Bonney. We started our hike at Lake Bonney.
Selfie at the Solas Glacier.
Selfie above the Sollas Glacier.
My new home, that is the Canada Glacier behind my tent.
My new home, that is the Canada Glacier behind my tent and Lake Hoare to the right.

 

Leave a Reply

